Back to Members in the News

Kris Kristofferson Presents the Inaugural Kris Kristofferson Award Willie Nelson

February 19 2013

Sunday, January 27th The Nashville Songwriters Association International hosted an intimate ceremony to commemorate the lifetime achievement of Willie Nelson and present him with the inaugural Kris Kristofferson Award. Held at the legendary Bluebird Café, Kristofferson gave a heartfelt speech to his fellow colleague and musical icon. Among those in attendance were lifelong friends of Kristofferson and Nelson as well as songwriter members from NSAI’s board.

NSAI created the inaugural Kris Kristofferson Award to be given, at the board’s discretion, to songwriters and artists of all different genres who have experienced lifetime achievement and impacted generations of listeners worldwide. Willie Nelson is a Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame member, multiple Grammy Award winner, actor, author, activist and Country Music Hall of Fame Inductee. His timeless songs have spanned generations, including “‘Crazy’, ‘Funny How Time Slips Away’, ‘Hello Walls’, ‘Night Life’, ‘Good Hearted Woman’, ‘Time of the Preacher’, ‘Yesterday’s Wine’, and ‘On the Road Again’.”