Back to News

Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation Elects New Board Members and 2013 Officers

January 11 2013

Nashville, TN January 11, 2013 -- The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation (NaSHOF) has elected Pat Alger as its new chair and Ken Paulson its new vice-chair. Layng Martine, Jr and Mike Dye remain the board’s secretary and treasurer, respectively. The announcement was made today by the organization’s outgoing chair, John Van Mol. For the complete list of board members, see below.

“After years of hard work by so many former and current board members and through the generosity of numerous friends and music industry leaders, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame will at last become a physical reality,” said Alger. “At this exciting time, it is a tremendous honor to be elected Chair of this all-volunteer board, made up of these great songwriters and dynamic business leaders. There is still a lot of work to do and money left to raise, but what an incredible team we have in place to do it.”

Board of Directors Pat Alger: Songwriter, Hall of Fame member Steve Bogard: Songwriter, Director of the Copyright Forum Mike Dye: CEO of Mercury Supply Company Kye Fleming: Songwriter, Hall of Fame Member Rich Hallworth: CEO of Corizon Wayland Holyfield: Songwriter, Hall of Fame Member David L. Maddox: Assistant Professor of Music Business, Belmont University Layng Martine, Jr: Songwriter Robert K. Oermann: Nashville entertainment journalist, music critic, author and historian Ken Paulson: President and CEO of the First Amendment Center Dr. Bo Thomas: Vice-President for University Advancement, Belmont University Troy Tomlinson: President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville Mike Vaden: Director of Decosimo/Vaden John Van Mol: CEO of DVL Public Relations & Advertising

About the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation

To the world, Nashville is synonymous with music and songwriting because each art is crafted and perfected in the town known as Music City. Songwriters in particular have found a nurturing home in this culturally rich, diverse and growing city. To acknowledge and celebrate those who create the songs, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame was established in 1970, and currently boasts 188 members. Annually, at a joint dinner with the Nashville Songwriters Association International, four additional writers are inducted into the elite Hall of Fame, which claims members from all genres of music, underscoring Nashville's musical diversity in the songwriting world. For 42 years, the Hall of Fame has been a virtual one, until the announcement that it would occupy an actual space in the new, state-of-the-art Music City Center, scheduled to open summer of 2013. In addition to funding and operating the Hall of Fame, the broader mission of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation is to educate, archive and celebrate the songwriters that are uniquely associated with the Nashville music community. Plans include an expanded digital museum on its website and an educational partnership with the Belmont University Songwriting Program at its Music Row location, adjacent to the historic Quonset Hut in the shared space donated by Mike Curb.

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame includes such songwriting luminaries as Bobby Braddock, Garth Brooks, Johnny Cash, Rodney Crowell, Hal David, Bob Dylan, Don & Phil Everly, Lester Flatt & Earl Scruggs, Vince Gill, Harlan Howard, Alan Jackson, Bob McDill, Roger Miller, Bill Monroe, Roy Orbison, Dolly Parton, Carl Perkins, Dottie Rambo, Jimmie Rodgers, Don Schlitz, Cindy Walker, Jimmy Webb, Hank Williams, Sr. and Hank Williams, Jr. More information is available at