Back to News


Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation Elects New Board Members

January 11 2011

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation (NaSHOF) has elected newly inducted Hall of Fame songwriter Pat Alger and veteran songwriter and publisher Steve Bogard to its 2011/2012 Board of Directors. The Board also elected John Van Mol to serve as Chairman of the Foundation. Van Mol will succeed Roger Murrah, who steps down after five years of dedicated service to the organization as Chairman.

“It’s certainly an honor and a privilege to serve the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation,” said Van Mol, CEO of Dye, Van Mol & Lawrence. “I’m grateful to have the opportunity to build upon the great work of the Foundation and will do my very best to uphold, honor and expand the legacy of the legendary songwriters the Hall of Fame represents.

"Additionally, we're very pleased to welcome Pat Alger and Steve Bogard to our board," said Van Mol. "Pat and Steve exemplify the exceptional talent, ingenuity and perseverance it takes to have successful and impressive careers in the music industry and I expect them to be excellent additions to the board.”

The NaSHOF Board also elected its 2011 officers. In addition to Van Mol serving as Chair, other officers are: Vice Chair Wayland Holyfield, Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame member; Treasurer Pete Fisher, Vice President/General Manager, Grand Ole Opry, Gaylord Entertainment and Secretary Layng Martine, Jr., songwriter.

Also serving on the Board of Directors are: Mike Dye, Managing Partner, GroupXcel; Kye Fleming, Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame member; Becky Judd, Executive Assistant to Mike Curb, Curb Records; Dr. Bethel Thomas, Vice President of University Advancement, Belmont University; Troy Tomlinson, President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Nashville and Mike Vaden, Director, Decosimo/Vaden. Ex-officio members serving on the board are entertainment attorney David L. Maddox (Counsel), David L. Maddox & Associates, P.C. and author/entertainment journalist Robert K. Oermann (Historian). Jeff Skillen is the board's Director of Development, while Nashville Songwriter Association International’s Mark Ford serves as Manager of Affairs.

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. is a non- profit foundation that owns and operates the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. The NaSHOF's principal purposes are to educate, archive, celebrate and honor the legacy of songwriting that is uniquely associated with the Nashville music community.

Established in 1970, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame boasts 179 members, including songwriting luminaries such as Max T. Barnes, Johnny Cash, Rodney Crowell, Bob Dylan, Don and Phil Everly, Lester Flatt & Earl Scruggs, Vince Gill, Harlan Howard, Bob McDill, Roger Miller, Bill Monroe, Roy Orbison, Dolly Parton, Carl Perkins, Dottie Rambo, Jimmie Rodgers, Cindy Walker, Jimmy Webb, Hank Williams, Sr. and Hank Williams, Jr. Induction into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame is the highest honor that can be bestowed on a songwriter associated with the Nashville music community. In 2010 the Hall of Fame inducted Pat Alger, Steve Cropper, Paul Davis and Stephen Foster, with an honorary induction to Sir Paul McCartney.