Amy Grant

Induction Year: 2021

Birth Name: Amy Lee Grant

Birth Date: 11-25-1960

Place of Birth: Augusta, Georgia

Raised in Nashville, Amy Grant was signed to a record deal at age 16 and was a star by the late ’70s. Her singer-songwriter fusion of Pop, Rock, Gospel and ’70s Jesus-music created a fresh, new sound that kick-started the Contemporary Christian genre and led to the first Platinum-selling album in the new genre’s history — her 1982 breakthrough, Age to Age.

By the mid-’80s, Amy was reaching Pop audiences with hits such as “Find A Way” and “Lead Me On.” Her blockbuster 1991 album, Heart in Motion, generated the multi-genre hits “Baby Baby,” “Every Heartbeat,” “Good For Me,” “I Will Remember You” and “That’s What Love Is For.” Another song from this era, “Place In This World,” written with, and performed by, Michael W. Smith, earned the 1992 GMA Song of the Year.

Amy’s catalog also includes the hymnal mainstay “Thy Word,” as well as her signature holiday standard “[Tender] Tennessee Christmas.”

As an artist, she has placed 36 self-penned Top 20 songs on the Billboard and Contemporary Christian music charts, including 12 #1s and 18 more in the Top 10.

She was inducted into the Gospel Music Hall of Fame in 2003. Amy received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2006.

"1974 (We Were Young)"

(written with Gary Chapman, Jerome McPherson)

Amy Grant1988 #1 Christian Pop


(written with Brown Bannister, Gary Chapman, Michael W. Smith)

Amy Grant1984 #1 Christian Pop

"Baby, Baby"

(written with Keith Thomas)

Amy Grant1991 #1 Pop, #1 AC, #13 Christian Pop
Bob Carlisle2000 
Amy Grant & Dave Aude2014 #3 Dance
Amy Grant & Moto Blanco2014 #13 Dance
Amy Grant & Tori Kelly2016  #8 Christian Pop

"Breath Of Heaven (Mary's Song)"

(written with Chris Eaton)

Amy Grant1992 #1 Christian AC
Donna Summer1994 
Grover Washington, Jr.1997 
Melissa Manchester1998 
Vince Gill1998 
Sara Groves2003 
Jessica Simpson2004 
David Fitzgerald2005 
Point Of Grace2005 
Oleta Adams2006 
Kathy Troccoli2011 
Jersey Boys w/ Travis Cloer2011 

"Every Heartbeat"

(written with Wayne Kirkpatrick, Charlie Peacock)

Amy Grant1991 #2 Pop, #2 AC, #2 Christian AC
Eric Champion1996 
Charlie Peacock2004 

"Faith Walkin' People"

(written with Brown Bannister)

Amy Grant1979 #10 Christian Pop

"Find A Way"

(written with Michael W. Smith)

Amy Grant1985 #7 AC, #29 Pop, #1 Christian Pop

"Good For Me"

(written with Jay Gruska, Wayne Kirkpatrick, Tom Snow)

Amy Grant1992 #4 AC, #8 Pop

"I Will Remember You"

(written with Gary Chapman, Keith Thomas)

Amy Grant1992 #2 AC, #20 Pop, #4 Christian Pop

"Lead Me On"

(written with Wayne Kirkpatrick, Michael W. Smith)

Amy Grant1988 #1 Christian Pop, #34 AC
Bethany Dillon2004 

"Like I Love You"

(written with Wayne Kirkpatrick, Keith Thomas)

Amy Grant1998 #10 AC

"Lucky One"

(written with Keith Thomas)

Amy Grant1994 #2 AC, #18 Pop

"My Grown Up Christmas List"

(written with David Foster, Linda Thompson)

Amy Grant1992 
Kelly Clarkson2003 #17 AC

"Place In This World"

(written with Wayne Kirkpatrick, Michael W. Smith)

1992 GMA Dove Song of the Year

Michael W. Smith1991 #5 AC, #6 Pop, #1 Christian AC, #1 Christian Pop

"Saved By Love"

(written with Michael W. Smith)

Amy Grant1988 #32 AC, #1 Christian Pop

"Somewhere Down The Road"

(written with Wayne Kirkpatrick)

Amy Grant1997 #2 Christian AC
Faith Hill1998 

"Takes A Little Time"

(written with Wayne Kirkpatrick)

Amy Grant1997 #4 AC, #21 Pop, #9 Christian Pop

"Tennessee Christmas"

(written with Gary Chapman)

Amy Grant1983 
Steve Wariner1985 
First Call1987 
Lee Greenwood1987 
Vince Gill1994 
B.J. Thomas1997 
Babie Mason2000 
Point Of Grace2008 
Matt Wertz w/ Amy Grant2011 
Restless Heart2013 
Wayne Haun2014 
Amy Grant2016 #49 Christian Pop

"That's What Love Is For"

(written with Mark Muller, Michael Omartian)

Amy Grant1991 #1 AC, #7 Pop, #1 Christian Pop

"Thy Word"

(written with Michael W. Smith)

Amy Grant1984 #4 Christian Pop
Alleluia Worship Band1994 
David Osborne1998 
Heather Miller1998 
Bishop Andrew Merritt & the Strai2000 
Michael W. Smith2000 
Peter Kalasin2000 
Amade String Orchestra2002 
Cedarmont Kids2005 
Queensland Pops Orchestra2007 
The Mormon Tabernacle Choir2017 

Amy Grant

Induction Year: 2021