Sharon Vaughn

Induction Year: 2019

Birth Name: Mary Sharon Vaughn

Birth Date: 05-02-1947

Place of Birth: Orlando, Florida

Sharon Vaughn is a Florida native whose first notable success as a songwriter came in 1976 when Waylon Jennings recorded her “My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys” on country’s first platinum album, Wanted: The Outlaws. (Willie Nelson’s version would top the charts in 1980.)

Sharon’ first hit single was with The Oak Ridge Boys’ 1977 smash “Y’all Come Back Saloon.” Since then, Sharon has written more than a dozen Top 40 Country hits, including “Broken Promise Land” by Mark Chesnutt, “Til A Tear Becomes A Rose” by Keith Whitley & Lorrie Morgan, “I’m Not That Lonely Yet” by Reba McEntire, “Lonely Too Long” by Patty Loveless, “Out Of My Bones” by Randy Travis, “Powerful Thing” by Trisha Yearwood and “Trip Around The Sun” by Jimmy Buffett & Martina McBride.

In 2008, Sharon provided Pop tunes to famed American Idol alumni Clay Aiken and Jon Peter Lewis.

She has lived and worked for years in Stockholm, Sweden, where her song “Release Me” by Agnes became a hit in over 40 countries.

In addition to more than 100 cuts over the past several years, Sharon has also written songs for musical theatre.


"(I'm Not) A Candle In The Wind"

(written with Bill Rice)

Bobby Bare1982 #37 country
Tammy Wynette1992 

"Broken Promise Land"

(written with Bill Rice)

Waylon Jennings1985 
Mark Chesnutt1992 #10 country

"I Could'a Had You"

(written with Bill Rice)

Leon Everette1984 #6 country

"I'm Not That Lonely Yet"

(written with Bill Rice)

Reba McEntire1982 #3 country
Rhonda Vincent1991 

"Lonely Too Long"

(written with Mike Lawler, Bill Rice)

Patty Loveless1996 #1 country


(written with Bill Rice)

Kenny Rogers w/ Holly Dunn1990 #25 country

"My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys"

Waylon Jennings1976 
Willie Nelson1980 #1 country, #44 pop
Chris LeDoux1980 

"Out Of My Bones"

(written with Gary Burr, Robin Lerner)

Randy Travis1998 #2 country, #64 pop

"Powerful Thing"

(written with Al Anderson)

Trisha Yearwood1999 #6 country, #50 pop

"Pretty Little Baby Child"

(written with John Barlow Jarvis, Bill Rice)

The Oak Ridge Boys1995 
Kenny Rogers1996 
Don Williams2000 
LeAnn Rimes2007 

"Release Me"

(written with Anders Hansson, Agnes Carlsson)

Agnes2009 #1 hot dance club songs, #1 UK club chart

"Right On Time"

(written with Al Anderson)

Randy Travis2004 
Al Anderson2006 
Jerry Douglas w/ Marc Cohn2012 
Gretchen Wilson2013 

"Soul Searchin'"

(written with Bill Rice)

Leon Everette1982 #10 country


(written with Bill Rice)

Tom Wopat1987 #20 country

"There Ain't No Future In This"

(written with Bill Rice)

Reba McEntire1983 #12 country

"Til A Tear Becomes A Rose"

(written with Bill Rice)

Leon Everette1985 #44 country
Keith Whitley & Lorrie Morgan1990 #13 country

"Till Your Memory's Gone"

(written with Bill Rice)

Bill Medley1983 #28 country

"Trip Around The Sun"

(written with Al Anderson, Steve Bruton)

Jimmy Buffett & Martina McBride2004 #20 country
Maura O'Connell2004 
Al Anderson2006 

"Y’all Come Back Saloon"

Oak Ridge Boys1977 #3 country
Henson Cargill2008 

Sharon Vaughn

Induction Year: 2019