Wayne Kirkpatrick

Induction Year: 2018

Birth Name: Obed Wayne Kirkpatrick Jr.

Birth Date: 08-31-1961

Place of Birth: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Wayne Kirkpatrick moved with his family to Baton Rouge, La., at age 14. It was there that he taught himself to play guitar and began writing songs. At 21, he moved to Nashville to attend Belmont College and within a couple of years secured some of his first album cuts.

Since then, Wayne has had nearly two dozen chart-topping Contemporary Christian, Pop and Country singles, including “Every Heartbeat,” “Good For Me” and “Takes A Little Time” by Amy Grant, “Place In This World” by Michael W. Smith (the 1992 Dove Song of the Year) and “Wrapped Up In You” by Garth Brooks.

In 1996, Wayne’s co-written “Change The World” by Eric Clapton was featured in the film Phenomenon and earned the 1996 Grammy for Song of the Year.

In 2002 he began a longtime collaboration with Little Big Town that yielded hits such as “Boondocks,” “Bring It On Home” and “Little White Church.”

In 2010, Wayne and his brother, Karey, began working on the musical Something Rotten!, which opened on Broadway in 2015 and earned 10 Tony Award nominations, including Best Musical and Best Original Score. The show launched a U.S. tour in 2017.


(written with Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Roads, Phillip Sweet, Jimi Westbrook)

Etta James2011 
Little Big Town2005 #9 country

"Bring It On Home"

(written with Greg Bieck, Tyler Hayes Bieck)

Little Big Town2006 #4 country

"Change The World"

(written with Gordon Kennedy, Tommy Sims)

1996 Grammy for Best Song

Eric Clapton1996 #1 adult contemporary, #5 pop, #54 r&b
Take 62017 

"Every Heartbeat"

(written with Amy Grant, Charlie Peacock)

Amy Grant1991 #2 pop, #2 adult contemporary

"Good For Me"

(written with Amy Grant, Jay Gruska, Tom Snow)

Amy Grant1992 #8 pop, #4 adult contemporary

"I Can't Help You Now"

(written with Gordon Kennedy, Tommy Sims)

Bonnie Raitt2002 #15 adult contemporary

"I'll Lead You Home"

(written with Michael W. Smith)

Michael W. Smith1996 #1 contemporary Christian, #8 adult contemporary

"It Don't Matter To The Sun"

(written with Gordon Kennedy, Tommy Sims)

Garth Brooks1999 #24 country

"Like I Love You"

(written with Amy Grant, Keith Thomas)

Amy Grant1998 #10 adult contemporary

"Little White Church"

(written with Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Roads, Phillip Sweet , Jimi Westbrook)

Little Big Town2010 #6 country

"Lost In You"

(written with Gordon Kennedy, Tommy Sims)

Garth Brooks2000 #5 pop, #9 adult contemporary

"Love Will Always Win"

(written with Gordon Kennedy)

Faith Hill2001 
Garth Brooks & Trisha Yearwood2006 #23 country

"Man After Your Own Heart"

(written with Billy Simon)

1996 GMA Inspirational Song of the Year (Dove Award)

Gary Chapman1996 #1 contemporary Christian

"My, Oh My"

(written with Michelle Branch, Jessica Harp, Josh Leo)

The Wreckers2007 #9 country

"Place In This World"

(written with Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith)

1992 GMA Song of the Year

Michael W. Smith1991 #1 contemporary Christian, #5 adult contemporary, #6 pop


(written with Michael W. Smith)

Michael W. Smith1986 #1 contemporary Christian

"Something Rotten! (Broadway musical)"

(written with Karey Kirkpatrick)

Something Rotten! original Broadway cast2015 

"Takes A Little Time"

(written with Amy Grant)

Amy Grant1997 #4 adult contemporary, #21 pop

"Wise Up"

(written with Billy Simon)

Amy Grant1985 #2 contemporary Christian, #34 adult contemporary

"Wrapped Up In You"

Garth Brooks2001 #5 country

Wayne Kirkpatrick

Induction Year: 2018